Molto Piccolo

For the love of all things "very tiny" {Italian}

.in support of those affected by the Qld floods. January 19, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — moltopiccolo @ 11:13 pm

I am so aware that even though stories of the recent Queensland floods have lessened dramatically in the news, there is much to recover from for many, many people.  Some have lost everything, including those they love.  My heart breaks for the family who lost their 4 year old boy after he fell from a rescue boat.  I struggle to think what to write next.  I’m still stuck on that.  Yes, I have a 4 year old son also, but I am certain that almost anyone hearing the story would be saddened beyond words. 

It seems so inconsequential that I have decided to hold an auction to raise some funds to be donated directly to those in need.  But I wanted to do something.  Anything really.  And this is just something small.  But hopefully something you might want to be part of.  

I am auctioning a 50 x 70cm canvas print entitled ‘Swan Girl’ and the starting bid is $30.  

You need to visit my Molto Piccolo Facebook Group and place you email address & bid value in the Comments section under the photo.  Bidding will be open until midnight on 31st January 2011.  (Free delivery in the Launceston area, or check with me about postage costs to anywhere else).

Every now and then, the linking tool on my blog dashboard has an error.  Now is one of those times.  So no clever links this time!  Click on the Facebook page link to see more info and to bid: http://www.facebook.com/?ref=home#!/group.php?gid=131720726849216 (I expect you have to click ‘Like’ or ‘Join’ at the top of the page first to be able to view the details & to bid).

If you are not on Facebook but would like to bid, please comment on this blog post with your email address & bid amount, or email me directly at moltopiccolo@becc.com.au and I will add your bid to the auction.  (You’d need to check with me first what the current bid is so you can up it!)

I had this crazy idea – that everyone who bids but doesn’t win could still donate their bid amount to the flood relief appeal anyway.  Wouldn’t that be amazing?  Just an idea that of course isn’t up to me but it can’t hurt to put the idea out there!  (o:  The official Queensland Government website has all the details of how to donate here: http://www.qld.gov.au/floods/donate.html

Maybe you can take some time to pray for the people affected, or think of something big or small you can do to contribute. 

Love to you,

Ruth x

 

Leave a Reply

