Molto Piccolo

For the love of all things "very tiny" {Italian}

.buttons and lace. April 8, 2010

Filed under: Card Projects,Just Add Ink Challenges — moltopiccolo @ 1:57 pm

I sometimes find it hard to use lace on my projects.  Not because I don’t like it, but because it is a total throwback to the 8o’s for me, and for so long, we left everything from that decade well behind! 

I actually had a favourite piece of pink lace in the 8o’s that I used to wear as a kind of necklace, along with some fake pearls I had.  At the time it was seriously cool (at least to me!) but at some point, it because very not cool, and was a huge source of laughter from me and my friend who lived through that era with me!!

So to use lace in a creative way now is kind of like doilies for me.  Sweet and pretty but somehow a bit kitsch.  But I guess all things old keep making a resurgence, so I am just going with it. 

So thanks to designer paper, buttons and ribbon (in this case, lace), some cards are super quick to make and still look pretty ok!

This one is for a new baby girl and also for the Moxie Fab World Tuesday Trigger Challenge that is currently running.

Have you seen any of your teenage fads appearing lately?  Maybe fluoro socks, jellybean shoes, huge elastic belts, (did they have a name?), banana clips…or was that all just me?!  Let me know and we can all share a good old-fashioned laugh about it!

 

3 Responses to “.buttons and lace.”

  1. Danielle Says:

    You know how to put a smile on my face!!! Got to laugh about anything to do with the 80’s!! I hope the lace on the card wasn’t from your favourite necklace. Wish I was there to watch your creativity come to life. I am super homesick at the moment, and they have these discover Tasmania ads on TV at the moment to promote tourism in Tassie, however, waiting on God to tell me when to go!!! Love Dani

  2. Patsy Says:

    The pink lace Was not cool because we never washed it hahaha an we both wore it along with your mums hoop skirt 🙂 gee Molly Ringwald had a lot to answer for. Pxxxxx

  3. Cath Says:

    Hey Ruth! What a pretty approach to this week’s Tuesday Trigger in the Moxie Fab World! Thanks so much for playing along! 🙂


Leave a Reply

