Molto Piccolo

For the love of all things "very tiny" {Italian}

.keep the colour coming. March 6, 2010

I have found one of the happiest mood boards I’ve seen in a while, and the colours have inspired a project or 3. 

Inspiration Board by Kelly Oshiro via Santa Barbara Chic

This image is the current Tuesday Trigger: Sweet on Spring at Moxie Fab World  submitted by Kim Wilson.

At the same time, I found the Colour Combination Just Add Ink Challenge #7, which has very similar colour themes.  Such a great blog with so many ideas to get excited about! 

So I am playing along with both challenges.

I also tried something new with these 3 cards…I made the second one from the offcuts of the first, and the third one from the offcuts of the second.  It is amazing to me how much use you can actually get out of paper scraps without too much effort!  I think my little experiment worked, however, it could go against me as my paper hoarding tendencies could rise to new levels now!

CARD #1

This was made at a Stampin’ Up! party a few nights ago, so all thanks to Anna Wilson, the SU! Consultant, for the wonderful design.

Embossing done using an amazing Cuttlebug machine

Punched & scrunched never looked so good!

Love those turquoise-y brads

CARD #2

There were so many beautiful scraps left over that I couldn’t throw them out, but instead, created this next design making the best use of them that I could.

The papers I punched the flower petals from (Card #1) become the feature

Letters from Rough Edges Alphabets (SU! set)

Left over embossed card & a simple knot of ribbon

CARD #3

So now, using up the little fiddly bits wasn’t hard with this layered and scalloped dress that I would surely wear, if only I get convert it into material!!  I added the peach colour so that I can include it in the Embellish Magazine Colour Challenge with Borders as well as the Moxie Fab’s Sweet on Spring Tuesday Trigger.

'Merci' card

Layers made using scallop-shaped scissors

Flower from tiny scraps; handmade wire coathanger

Love the green rhinestones

Now that I’ve gotten my molto piccolo (‘very tiny’ in Italian in case you didn’t realise!) fascination out of the way for the day, it’s off to two birthday parties & then dinner with friends.  Have a great long weekend, talk next week!

Love Ruth x

 

10 Responses to “.keep the colour coming.”

  1. Cheryl N Says:

    such lovely cards!

  2. Barb Says:

    How totally gorgeous! I love your crative mind 🙂 When are you going to show us the cards you got for your birthday from your creative friends?

  3. Cath Says:

    Hey Ruth! What fun approaches to this week’s Tuesday Trigger in the Moxie Fab World! Thanks for playing along! 🙂

  4. Bronwyn Says:

    All your cards are lovely. I particularly love the scallop circle flower and embossing on the first. Thanks for including Just Add Ink in with the mix of challenges. It’s great to see you enjoying the inspiration from a variety of sources!

  5. These are great! I love your style! Thanks for playing along with us at Embellish!

  6. Wow – such gorgeous cards, Ruth! Your projects inspire me every time I check out your blog. 🙂 I really love the photography of your creations too. Thanks for playing!

  7. […] Traveling Mama) is part of the Embellish design team, and I’m stoked to see she commented on my last Embellish Mag challenge entry!!  Her blog was one of the inspirations for me starting my Molto Piccolo blog, so I have just LOVED […]

  8. Delys Says:

    Lovely cards Ruth ..love all of them. Thanks for playing along at Just Add Ink too!

  9. mariana Says:

    Such a pretty card! I love that lovely, and creative dress! Thank you for participating in the Embellish Color Challenge!

  10. […] .keep the colour coming. March […]


Leave a Reply

