Molto Piccolo

For the love of all things "very tiny" {Italian}

.oriental beauty. March 3, 2010

'Hanami' wall sticker from http://www.stickyups.com

I have a love of oriental style – such a beautiful mix of minimalism and intricate design.  There is a tranquility to the style that I really like, and at the same time, so much detail to be intrigued by.  

Sadly, I’ve never even visited an Asian country – the closest I’ve come is the Bangkok and Singapore international airports.  I have been to the Asian continent, but I was in Egypt, so I don’t think that counts as an oriental adventure.  (Yes, I know, Egypt is in north Africa.  But it’s also in Asia.  The only country to span two continents, apparently.  Cross over the Suez Canal & you will hear it for yourself, I expect!)

So I’ll just enjoy some beautiful images for now…

Hope you are finding this colour infusion good for your day!

My card below is made using the Haiku designer paper from the Stampin’ Up range.  And the stamp is from their Too Terrific Tags set.  Citrus colour combos are everywhere at the moment, but it seems that the orient has been incorporating it for a very long time!  This card was made for the wonderful Just Add Ink Challenge #6, which is always worth checking out!

Haiku double sided designer paper

Knotted string and a blossom thankyou stamp

Can't go wrong with citrus

Love Ruth x

 

8 Responses to “.oriental beauty.”

  1. Lovely card! I love the Haiku papers, and against the white card they look gorgeous. Nice take on the Just Add Ink challenge!

  2. chantell16 Says:

    Great card Ruth. I have been looking at doing some cards inspired by the Orient myself. Thanks for the inspiration. Chantell

  3. Bronwyn Says:

    I love Asian inspired cards. Your take on the sketch is just lovely. Great photos too.

  4. Thanks for your lovely words, Ruth! I love your card. My favourite bit is that the squares aren’t all the same size. Gorgeous! Thanks for playing!

  5. misstreez Says:

    Like the way you altered the sizes of your ‘squares’, it looks really good with the asian theme.

  6. Amanda Says:

    This is so pretty, love how you showed where you get your inspiration from too. Great take on the challenge. TFS!

  7. Patsy Says:

    Hi I just finished a quilt that you inspried me with colour choice and an Asian theme through the fabric, I even used fabric that came from japan 🙂


Leave a Reply

