Molto Piccolo

For the love of all things "very tiny" {Italian}

.sweet and simple. January 17, 2010

Filed under: Card Projects — moltopiccolo @ 12:23 pm

Before I show you my lastest creation, I just wanted to mention this chalked message that I saw a couple of days ago on a lookout structure in Launceston.  It is obviously reminiscent of Arthur Stace who spent some 40 years writing the word “Eternity” on the streets of Sydney in chalk, hoping to simply prompt people to think about their own mortality in light of eternity.  His silent mission was recognised on a world-wide stage on New Year’s Eve 1999 in Sydney when the word he made infamous was emblazoned on the Sydney Harbour Bridge for all to see & consider.  I love his story as it’s such a humble one and is a great example of a life lived simply pointing the way to something or some One far greater. 

You can read part of his story on Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arthur_Stace

So from the sweetness & simplicity of that story to the sweet & simple card creation that I want to share!

I needed a birthday card for a friends’ 30th, so created this one yesterday.  I added a simple flower that was fun to make – punched out 5 circles from a brown paper bag, scruched them up, then put a brad (split-pin) through the centre of them & stuck a button on the top.  If it’s a simple & quick embellishment, then it’s a good one!

You can see Dawn McVey’s version of these kind of flowers on her Raspberry Suite blog (with tutorial): http://dawnmcvey.typepad.com/these_are_a_few_of_my_fav/2010/01/new-raspberry-suite-sneakie-peek.html

Take care!

Love Ruth x

 

One Response to “.sweet and simple.”

  1. Joel Says:

    I’m impressed, as I always have with you.


Leave a Reply

